State of Michigan CPL Application/Rewnal Form (PDF) - online
Do I need to own a gun to take this class?
Do I need to own a gun to receive my permit from the State of Michigan?
Does this class allow me to carry a taser?
Yes it does.
LANSING, MI — Michigan citizens would be able to carry Taser guns under bills passed by the House on April 19, 2012.
The House nearly unanimously passed Senate bills 29, 30 and 93. The Senate, which originally approved the bills last October, has to sign off on some technical changes before they head to Gov. Rick Snyder for his signature.
Under the law, citizens can possess and use electro-muscular disruption devices, more commonly known as Tasers, with a concealed pistol license and training. The bills call for similar restrictions and penalties as the laws in place for pistols.
What does the CCW-1 course include?
This course includes all books and materials. These materials include the use of a gun, ammunition, ear and eye protection. 8 hour classes include lunch.
Students may bring their own gun (optional, not neccessary).
Why should I take this class?
If you are looking for an interesting and interactive class that answers all your questions about concealed carry laws in Michigan, and you want to learn about your rights and responsibilities, this class is for you! This course is also a requirment to obtain a concealed carry permit.
How do I pay?
You may use PayPal, Master Card, Visa and Discover when signing up online. You may also pay at the class with cash or check.
What are the requirements to obtain a CPL (Concealed Pistol License) in Michigan?
1. This course is required to obtain a concealed carry permit.
2. Must be 21 years or older (course may be taken in advance).
3. United States resident.
4. Michigan resident for at least 6 months.
5. No Felony Convictions
6. No More than 2 OUI (Operating Under The Influence)
Who can I contact if I have a more specific question?
Sales and support is available during business hours at 855 229-6424 or 616 980-4100, or you may speak with an instructor (Mike Bernethy) at (231) 750-0019.
How much does the permit cost from the State of Michigan.
It is a five year permit and cost $105.
How long between completion of class and receiving my permit?
Three to six weeks.
What is PPOH aka Advanced CCW or CCW-2?
Personal Protection outside the Home, also known as Advanced CCW or CCW-2.
The Level 1 CCW class is a prerequisite for the CCW-2 class.
CCW-2 involves shooting 200 rounds, quick draw and tactical shooting.
If passed into law in Michigan, the CCW-2 will allow you to carry in more areas than allowed with your CCW/CPL permit.
This class picks up where the CCW class left off.
You are required to bring your own gun, 200 rounds of ammunition and a strong side holster.
** NOTE ** This class cannot be used to obtain your CPL. You must take the CCW Level 1 class first.
Do I have to take a basic handguns class to learn about shooting and cleaning the gun?
All of this will be included in the class, so you do not have to take any extra classes.
Does the Michigan State Police have a website about firearms.
Is it illegal to have a knife with a blade over 3 inches in my possession?
MCL 750.226 NO. Michigan law specifies that a person, with intent to use the knife unlawfully against another, shall not go armed with a knife having a blade over 3 inches in length. Just carrying a sport knife over 3” is legal (See link below).